Mother Nature.

50 knot winds, 10 foot swells, for five days. No breaks. If you were going to get sea sick, you would have lasted five minutes.  Couldn’t even boil water. It would slide back and forth until there was none left. Refrigerator flying open because someone forgot to lock it. Eggs everywhere. I flew from one side of the boat to the other at one point. Four guys standing around the galley diving around to save things from hitting the floor. I mean you could barely stand up. If you even thought of getting sea sick it would be over. You would work yourself into the most miserable five days possible. This WAS the hardest week of my life. We start fishing at 5 a.m. Oatmeal is finished, and up to the Captain hot. Change into my rain gear for what was the worst weather conditions I had ever seen, land or water. The gusts of wind were so strong that if I jumped I would have literally been blown away. The waves crashing over the boat, and a steep chop that sent you back and forth for hours. All of your focus really goes into not falling overboard. But where there is bad weather there is a lot of fish. So you have to suck it up, work your tail off, catch the fish, don’t complain and wait for the benefits. I feel proud being finished with this. I have never had to work so hard just to stand up, and here I am trying to cook the best food possible. I think I did it right.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Leave a comment